Debating

In English we are learning how to debate. Bit boring for me, really, since I pretty much know all the stuff our teacher is telling in class. But it became a whole lot more exciting when I heard that we have to prepare an argument and present it in front of the class. Well, that’s not really the exciting part, the exciting part was when I read though the topics we could debate on.

Abortion. Okay, you might think I am crazy for being excited about arguing about this, but for those of you that know me would understand. I have heaps of opinions, and love love love to share them and love love love to prove people wrong. The statement is ”that women have no right to abortion” I am arguing against this statement, and against someone else. God I love this.

I have done a bit of research on this, (I only got the assignment today) and have some good ideas about what I’m going to say, and how I’m going to rebut certain topics, but would really appreciate anyone who would like to help me. Whether it be a link, advise, or ideas, I would love to hear from you. And I know that there will be a few of my readers that are very passionate about a woman’s right to abort, and that are very knowledgeable about this. And debating. Among other things. So your knowledge will be helpful, and greatly appreciated.

4 Comments

Filed under Highschool, Opinion

4 responses to “Debating

  1. Hmmm…. may I offer something I wrote myself? It’s a quick trot through the major arguments in favour of allowing abortion: Speaking up for abortion. I’ve written quite a bit more, but one at a time, maybe? And feel very very free to e-mail or Facebook me to talk it over and / or get some more ideas.

  2. her

    I’m not all that informed about abortion, but I’d say yes, women should have the right to do so. A year ago, our class had a debate about whether people in the U.S. should have the right to keep personal fire-arms. It was super fun, because I was quite passionate about my side (that people should be able to own guns) and we had to do all the research and like you said have a rebuttal. It was super fun. (And we won in the end 😀 )

  3. I remember doing debating at school. The topic was that everyone should have yellow cars. My side won. Yay!

Leave a Reply

