What one young woman makes of the recent slut walk

In one of Martin van Beynan’s not so clever or politically correct articles he asked  “What, for instance, is a young woman to make of the recent “slut walk”?” There is only  very few things that I actually like about being a teenager, but I have to say, being able to give my take on things is actually quite fun, and I know that people often wonder about what the youth of today think. So this one is for you, Martin, I’m going to answer you question.

I think that the slut walk many things, but if I had to sum it up in one word I would say inspiring. Simply because it gives hope. That people can and will fight injustices. Knowing that there are people out there willing to band together and make a point, and make it heard. One day, I want to do what these women and men do.

And since all of these articles, and the comments on the articles, have been infuriating and disheartening, I wanted to share this one positive thought I had. There was one commenter on this article that said

“Nice article Martin. Seems the female species have yet to understand their purpose in life. Honestly, if men decided that enough was enough with this feminism rights nonsense, what could women possibly do to stop things from reversing to where they should be in the first place?”

The thought that I had when I read this was that you can’t. There is no way that men will decide to put this ‘nonsense’ to bed, because many support it. There is no way anyone could stop this now. It is never going to go backwards.

Leave a comment

Filed under Feminism, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

